Scentre Group Returns to US Debt Market With a US$750M Bond Priced at 6.20%

Scentre Group's US$750 million senior notes at 6.20% mark the Westfield owner's return to the US debt market, but the swapped A$ margin of 141 basis points over BBSW is the number that really counts.
By Josua Ferreira -
  • Scentre Group priced US$750 million (A$1,079 million) of 10-year guaranteed senior notes at a fixed 6.20% on 8 October 2026, with settlement due 16 October 2026.
  • The 6.20% coupon isn't the real cost: the notes are swapped to a floating A$ liability at 141 basis points over 3-month BBSW.
  • The deal marks Scentre's return to the US market and follows its domestic six-year senior notes raised in April 2026.
  • Proceeds go to general corporate purposes, including repaying existing indebtedness, but the debt being repaid, the amount and any credit rating aren't disclosed.
  • Management ties the raise to its strategy of diversifying funding, extending debt maturity and reducing the weighted average cost of capital, though no updated metrics were given.
Summarise with AI:

Scentre Group prices US$750 million of senior notes at 6.20%

Scentre Group (ASX: SCG) priced US$750 million (A$1,079 million) of 10-year guaranteed senior notes with a fixed coupon of 6.20% on 8 October 2026. The notes were priced in the United States market under US Rule 144A/Regulation S.

The company detailed the pricing in an ASX announcement dated 9 October 2026, with settlement scheduled for 16 October 2026. Scentre Group owns 42 Westfield destinations across Australia and New Zealand, encompassing 12,000 outlets.

For investors, a US dollar issue of this size points to continued access to international debt capital markets.

Key deal terms

The table below sets out the main terms disclosed in the announcement.

Term Detail Why it matters
Issue size US$750 million (A$1,079 million) Indicates the scale of the offshore debt raise
Tenor 10-year guaranteed senior notes Sets the length of the debt commitment
Fixed coupon 6.20% The fixed interest rate on the US dollar notes
Swapped margin 141 basis points over 3-month BBSW The A$ cost reference after the swap
Settlement 16 October 2026 Date the issue is scheduled to settle

The notes were priced on 8 October 2026, while the announcement is dated 9 October 2026.

Swapped to floating-rate A$ liability

Principal and interest payment obligations on the notes have been swapped to a floating rate A$ liability at a margin of 141 basis points over 3-month BBSW. The 6.20% coupon is therefore not Scentre Group’s all-in cost, and the swapped margin is the A$ cost reference.

US Debt Issue and Currency Swap Flow

Because the obligations have been swapped to A$, the A$ outcome is the figure that matters for investors rather than the US dollar coupon.

According to the announcement, proceeds of the issue will be used for:

  • General corporate purposes
  • Including to repay existing indebtedness

The announcement does not specify which debt will be repaid, the amount, or a credit rating.

Educational: what are US 144A senior notes?

A Rule 144A/Regulation S issue is a bond sold to institutional investors in the US and offshore rather than to retail investors. The notes are not offered in the US other than under exemptions from registration requirements.

A fixed coupon is an interest rate that stays the same for the life of the bond. BBSW is the Australian bank bill swap rate, a benchmark for A$ floating rates, and a basis point is one-hundredth of a percentage point. Issuers often swap foreign-currency debt back to A$ so repayments are in their home currency, and tapping more than one market diversifies funding sources.

Capital management strategy: return to the US market

The transaction marks the Group’s return to the US market. According to the announcement, it aligns with the Group’s capital management strategy, which aims to:

  1. Diversify funding sources
  2. Extend the weighted average maturity of debt
  3. Reduce the overall weighted average cost of capital

Longer debt maturity and lower funding costs are generally associated with balance sheet resilience. The announcement does not provide updated weighted average maturity, gearing or cost of capital figures, so the impact cannot be quantified.

The US issue follows Scentre’s earlier raise of domestic six-year senior notes in April, which were also swapped to a floating margin over BBSW and used to repay existing indebtedness.

The next step is settlement, scheduled for 16 October 2026. The release was authorised by the Chief Executive Officer.

Stay Ahead on Real Estate and REIT News Before the Market Moves

Get FREE breaking ASX news delivered to your inbox within minutes of release, complete with in-depth analysis. Join 20,000+ investors already receiving real-time alerts from Big News Blast. Click the “Free Alerts” button now to be first to know when market-moving announcements hit.


Frequently Asked Questions

What are US 144A senior notes?

A Rule 144A/Regulation S issue is a bond sold to institutional investors in the US and offshore rather than to retail investors. It is offered under exemptions from US registration requirements.

What are the terms of the Scentre Group US$750 million senior notes?

Scentre Group priced US$750 million (A$1,079 million) of 10-year guaranteed senior notes with a fixed 6.20% coupon on 8 October 2026. Settlement is scheduled for 16 October 2026.

Why did Scentre Group swap its US dollar notes to Australian dollars?

Principal and interest on the notes were swapped to a floating rate A$ liability at 141 basis points over 3-month BBSW. Issuers often do this so repayments are in their home currency, which makes the A$ margin the true cost reference.

What will Scentre Group use the senior notes proceeds for?

The announcement says proceeds will be used for general corporate purposes, including repaying existing indebtedness. It does not specify which debt will be repaid or the amount.

What does BBSW mean in a bond swap?

BBSW is the Australian bank bill swap rate, a benchmark for Australian dollar floating rates. A margin of 141 basis points over 3-month BBSW means 1.41 percentage points above that benchmark.

Josua Ferreira
By Josua Ferreira
Partnership Director
Josua Ferreira holds a Bachelor of Commerce in Marketing and Advertising and brings a background in publication, business development, and ASX market storytelling. He has worked with listed companies across the resource sector and broader market, combining sharp commercial instincts with a genuine commitment to keeping investors informed.
Learn More
Companies Mentioned in Article

Breaking ASX Alerts Direct to Your Inbox

Join +20,000 subscribers receiving alerts.

Join thousands of investors who rely on StockWire X for timely, accurate market intelligence.

About the Publisher